Little Gifts at Work

My colleagues sometimes leave little gifts on my desk at work … some are sweet, some are quite sour!

This was a thankyou present (for me doing the tiniest of favours for someone).  In parts of the city during summer, old women sit in the street threading wire through flowers, creating a small token of luck for the day.  Women often attach them to a button or pin.  They had a very strong and sweet smell!  My workfriend also gave me this blog, which has some beautiful pictures of the flower threaders, and Shanghai streetlife in general.
http://hi.baidu.com/eleanorleaf/blog/item/e0bb083833be182db9998f28.html

Whenever someone in the office gets married, we get candy.  The boxes are shaped like traditional wedding headwear. 

And whenever there is a baby born to someone in the office, we get a little gift too.  If it’s a girl, we get chocolate.  If it’s a boy however, we get shrink-wrapped black eggs.  Everyone hopes for a girl (except the parents probably…)

I have received another gift … a nickname from one of the marketing team.  Mr Bean (yeah, yeah, all white guys look the same…)  Upon being told, my annoyance was shortlived … in the next breath, she also told me she likes to read on the toilet.  I’d rather be a bit goofy than have smelly books!

4 Responses to Little Gifts at Work

  1. luKe says:

    I wonder what they leave on your desk if you fail to promptly submit your monthly invoice / project workplan / PQP / blahblahblah / etc ?

    • A What Plan? P Q Huh? There are many reasons I like being here and you have just mentioned four of them. I was told just 5 minutes ago that I should focus my energy on design not management.

  2. natalie says:

    Have you bought any gifts for people yet?

    • My gift is my immense talent – spread across the office and creating ripples of joy. No really (although what I said is true…), my only gift has been a regular supply of strawberries – I can get a whole bag from the stall near my apartment full for about $5. The peeps here love them.

Leave a Reply

